About us

LiRI Board

Prof Volker Dellwo - leader of the LiRI project, representative LiRI DAU (Data Acquisition Units) Phonetics, vice president of the executive board of the Zurich Center for Linguistics, head of the Phonetics Lab and of the Center for Forensic Phonetics and Acoustics, professor of Phonetics

Prof Noah Bubenhofer - representative LIS (LiRI Information System), professor of German Linguistics

Prof Martin Meyer - representative LiRI DAU (Data Acquisition Units) Neurolinguistics, professor of Evolutionary Neuroscience of Language

Prof Guido Seiler - president of the executive board of the Zurich Center for Linguistics, professor of German Philology


MA Stefan Bircher - system administrator, network management & scientific programming

MSc Pyros-Orfeas Bollano - accounting assistant

MA Andrew A. Clark - lab technician and lab manager

BSc Alessandro De Luca - data scientist, machine learning expert

Dr Tilia Ellendorff - linguistic application engineer, expert in natural language processing

Dr Johannes Graën - head of Language Technology team, database engineering and programming

Dr Dagmar Jung - data acquisition officer, with a focus on fieldwork-based data acquisition

Dr Agnes Kolmer - operative leader and manager of the LiRI project and unit

Dr Daniel McDonald - linguistic application engineer

MSc Igor Mustač - computer scientist and software developer

MSc Nikolina Rajović - linguistic application engineer, specialst in information and communication technology

BA Mirela Ratoi - assistant admin and lab

MA Klaus Rothenhäusler - scientific programmer with specialization in natural language processing

MA Jonathan Schaber - assistant LIS team

PD Dr Gerold Schneider - linguistic application engineer, expert in natural language processing

PD Dr Sandra Schwab - data scientist with specialization in statistics

MA Huw Swanborough - data scientist, MRI and machine learning expert

Dr Teodora Vuković  postdoctoral researcherin VIAN-DH project

MA Raffaela Zaugg - administrative assistant

NCCR@LiRI group members:

MSc Nianlong Gu - data scientist, machine learning expert

MSc Sumit Kumar Ram - data engineer

Dr Erik Ringen - data scientist, statistics

Dr Guanghao You - data aggregator

Cooperation partners

Language Respository of Switzerland (LaRS) @ SWISSUbase , a national platform for the publication of linguistic research data / University Library Zurich in collaboration with SWISSUbase, Working with Data, Dr Andrea Malits, MA Florian Steurer

CLARIN Switzerland Consortium / Common Language Resources and Technology Infrastructure in Switzerland, CLARIN-CH, hosted by the Zurich Center for Linguistics, Prof Marianne Hundt (national coordinator) and Dr Cristina Grisot (scientific coordinator)

Science IT (S3IT) / Central IT UZH, Service and Support for Science IT, Dr Marcel Riedi

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof Shanley E.M. Allen, TU Kaiserslautern, professor of Psycholinguistics and Language Development, dean Faculty of Social Sciences TU Kaiserslautern

Prof Lars Borin, University of Gothenburg, professor of natural language processing, co-director of Swedish Language Bank, national coordinator of SWE-CLARIN

PD Dr Alexander Geyken, Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, leader of the center for digital lexicography of the German language

Prof Katrin Skoruppa, Université de Neuchâtel, Institut des sciences logopédique, professor of speech and language therapy

Prof Stuart Rosen, University College London UCL, professor of Speech and Hearing Sciences, UCL Division of Psychology and Language Sciences

Prof Isabell Wartenburger, University of Potsdam, professor of Patholinguistics and Neurocognition of Language


2022 LiRI staff

Dr Andri Manser - data scientist, statistical consulting

Dr Sabine Güsewell - statistical consultant

2021 LiRI staff

Edward Anin - student assistant LIS team

Dr Elisa Pellegrino - lab experimental officer

BA Nick Sommerhalder - assistant lab

BA Zino Wellauer - assistant lab

2020 LiRI staff

MA Adrian van der Lek - assistant LIS team

MSc Ghazi Hachfi - assistant LIS team

Dr Lei He - lab manager

BA Xueying Liu - student assistant lab

MA Catherine Yoko Okaya - student assistant lab

BA Andrea Santos - student assistant lab

2019-2020 LiRI preparation phase, funded by URPP Language and Space and the Zurich Center for Linguistics

Dr Taras Zakharko - consultant LIS software development

PD Dr Gerold Schneider - consultant LIS software development

BA Stefan Vranković - LIS software engineer